top of page

Work update

I tend to talk very little of my work I do in Japan compared to everything elese I write about. Recently, I haven't felt like taking any pictures of anything, because I have already fallen in to a routine of going to same places and eating the same foods. This is not because there is nothing to see, there is a lot to see, but I have chosen not to explore as much as I did the first month in Japan.

Work has been keeping me extremely busy for the couple weeks, and because of it I have very little time and energy to do anything major like going out to explore new places and so on. This does not bother me at all, I enjoy the work, but having to work long hours only to get back home and straight to sleep, only to repeat the same thing the next day might be the kind of thing I am not looking forward to in the future when I live in Japan. For now it is doable and okay though, I mean, anyone can do that for couple months, but for the rest of your life... no thank you. Though I have to give a bit respect for my co-workers in the office who do this every single day.

I have already done one day of 14 hour workday. We started from 10:00 and ended in late 24:00/00:00. It came as a surprise to me, that I had to work that long that day, but I welcomed it, becuase it allowed me to have a real feeling of what it is like to work from morning till late night, like many japanese do, every single day. I have to give respect to them for pulling it off, but at the same time I know they don't do it because they want to, but because they have to. it explains the depression rates that Japan has, which is one of the biggest in the whole world. This does not only happen in worklife, but at schools as well, where students tend to give 85% of their time to their studies, often staying at school to study even when it has ended, or participating in some kind of club activity provided by the school.

Last week, I started a new project. I have been assigned to redesign a game's character UI images. I take the source material from a mobile game that is being localized to Japan, and I redraw the images to better suit a Japanese audience. Thus far the work has been very satisfying, as I get to do the kind of thing I most enjoy, drawing. For the first time, I am actually working in game industry as a graphic designer. No, it's not as high and mighty as working in EA or Blizzard, but I have to start from somewhere, and I think this work that I do now, is amazing opportunity for me to gain experience and grow my portfolio with actual work that is being put to real use.

And that's all I can say for my work for now. No details, no pictures, it's a shame, but I can not discuss my work in detail in public. in about 3 weeks or less, I will be attending a kickstarter seminar, all in japanese. I hope it has a networking session at the end, because I freaking love those, I get to meet all sorts of interesting people there.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Tunnisteita ei vielä ole.
bottom of page