top of page

The Imperial Palace

What we love to do with my friend on each weekend, is to select a random direction from our house and start walking till our legs can't carry us no longer. We end up finding the most interesting places, every single time. With over 25km walk under our belt each weekend, our legs are bleeding, but both can agree that it was well worth it.

This time we randomly stumbled across the Imperial palace, garden park side, which is open for everyone for free. You don't get to see the actual Imperial palace from this park, but it is open for visit once a year for everyone to see the Emperor of Japan. We are not fortunate enough to have this chance, but the park itself was beautiful enough to make our time worth it.

When you walked inside the park, you could literally feel the air around you, for it was so clean and pleasant to breathe. People were appreciating the most simplest things such as taking a nap under the sun on a clean short yellow grass, which was warm to touch. The sky was bright blue, very beautiful to look at.

Finally, after being 3 weeks in Japan, I have finally spotted my first Sakura tree! This magnificant tree with its beautiful flowers with pink pedals gave warmth to my heart as I gazed upon it. These trees are more beautiful in person than from pictures you see online. Sakura tree, as I like to call them (Cherry blossom tree), are unique trees only growing in Japan. I was very lucky to see one, for it is not yet a time for them to bloom.

It is weird how simple thing as a tree can spark up an inspiration and will to draw. But it was nothing compared to what I saw next. Up at a small lake, there was a herd of fishes which I had never seen before, except in movies, but I had already forgot they even existed. I do not know the name of this fish species, but rest asure I will find it, for I wish to study them for art.

These fishes were not afraid when approched, but rather surfaced to take a better look at us as we watched them swim.

And that pretty much sums up our adventure at the Imperial garden. After this, we walked to the Tokyo station, from where we were suppouse to take a train to Akihabara, but as it was not too far away from the station, we decided to walk there. Along the way we saw weird things, like people doing Mario kart on a busy road. There were many kind of interesting buildings to look at, many which I would dream to live in one day. The skyscrapers in this place are way bigger than the ones in Shinjuku.

People were doing Mario kart on a busy road, dressing in costumes like Bowser, Pikachu, Yoshi, Mario & Luigi, and so on. This is not the first time I actually see people doing this, but it was the first time I managed to take a picture as a proof.

These skyscrapers couldn't even fit to my camera view. It's very hard to describe them. Tokyo has some amazing-looking Skyscrapers, which all are freaking huge! But these ones were EVEN MORE huge than the ones I have seen thus far. You never get tired of looking at these buildings, for they are art of their own.

At Akihabra, I was surprised to see, that some of the roads were full of pedestrians, with no cars in sight. People were walking on roads, which was shocking after seeing how much traffic Akihabara keeps inside it during business days. I have to apologize for my bad camera lighting, but as you can see, people literally were just walking on a wide road, minding their own business. I must say, it actually felt pretty nice and liberating to be able to walk on a road at ease.

What would Akihabara be without its large stock of Anime figures. Like always when in Akihabra, me and my friend love to explore its Anime paradise by visiting all the shops which has anything to do with Anime. Luckily for us, there's a lot of it, and you only have to take two to three steps to spot a new anime shop next to another, with each store having around 8 floors of pure Anime entertainment, I still can't wrap my head around it how much Anime this city holds inside it.

These three figures are from completely different Anime shows, and yet they have found themselves in this hilarious pose on a store shelf behind a glass case, which customers don't have access to, so you know this was done by a store employee.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Tunnisteita ei vielä ole.
bottom of page